NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Favicon in multi-host app  (Read 3390 times)

jking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
    • View Profile
    • Email
Favicon in multi-host app
« on: March 22, 2012, 09:35:31 AM »
Bruce,

     I still don't see the favicon on the BrowseAsButtons or BrowseServers lists.  I have placed a favicon.ico in the web folder of the host and in the dll app web folders. 
     I also see that the code for the image file on the BrowseServers list is the following:

            'http://" & clip(WBS:HostName) & '/favicon.ico'

     Since I'm running secure sites on a non-standard port, I changed this to:

            'https://" & clip(WBS:HostName) & ':8008/favicon.ico'

This still does not work, my favicons are balnk.  I also thought that perhaps the WBS:HostName should be WBS:DLLPath, since we may want a different favicon for each site.  Can you help?

Thanks,

Jeff

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Favicon in multi-host app
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 11:27:00 PM »
Hi Jeff,

The "hostname" you enter should contain the port, as in the examples, so your code change there is incorrect.
In other words,
clip(WBS:HostName) should already contain :8008

>> I also thought that perhaps the WBS:HostName should be WBS:DLLPath, since we may want a different favicon for each site.

the favicon name is resolving to a _url_ combining the Hostname, and the image name. The image should be in the \web folder for that host. Each host can have it's own web folder, and hence it's own icon.

It is the _browser_ looking for the image, not the _server_.

If you are not seeing the image, then check the incoming URL request, and see if the image exists in the right place, with the right name.

cheers
Bruce

jking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Favicon in multi-host app
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 10:25:32 AM »
Bruce,

     Thanks, I have a better understanding of this now and I think I'm getting closer.  I now see the favicon in the browser URL but still don't see it on the site buttons (see hosts.png).  I have also attached an image of the web log on the server.  I believe it shows the incoming URL request with the correct icon name (server.png).

Thanks,

Jeff

[attachment deleted by admin]

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Favicon in multi-host app
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 01:58:46 AM »
I've touched the code in 6.27 to sort out this issue - it's related to the encoding of the image name.

cheers
Bruce

jking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Favicon in multi-host app
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2012, 12:08:09 PM »
Bruce,

     I have tested this with the 6.27 build and still have an issue. 
     I changed 'http://" & clip(WBS:HostName) & '/favicon.ico'  to 'https://" & clip(WBS:HostName) & '/favicon.ico', since I'm using an SSL cert on 443.   Still no good. 
     I have the favicon.ico file in both the host.exe folder and images folder.  The only way I have made this work is to change to 'images\favicon.png'.  Also, of note is that if I use 'images\favicon.ico', it does not work.  The ico file is good as I can open it in various other apps.
     Not a big deal at this time as I can use png files but thought I would let you know.  I have these results in IE9 and FF.

Thanks,

Jeff