NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?  (Read 4469 times)

Devan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Email
Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« on: March 04, 2012, 11:33:52 PM »
Hey all,

I have a web project that has been under development for some months now.  There are a few browses with Locators on them using 'Contains', and they were working fine for the client previously.

Recently I recompiled the app using the latest templates (6.19 and now 6.24) and the client has let me know that the Locators now no longer work.  No matter what they type in the Search box, it comes up with 'No records found'.  I've tested here and reproduced it.  I've changed the locator Type to 'Starts-With' or 'Search' and still no results are coming up.

We are using an MS-SQL back end - any reason why the Locators would suddenly stop working?  Anyone else seen an issue?

Cheers,
Devan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 12:30:55 AM »
nothing springs to mind, but try;

a) see if you can duplicate in the Locators example.
if not
b) put a p_web._trace statement in, just before the LOOP in that browse, and have a look at the filter. ie
p_web._trace('filter: ' & thisview{prop:filter})

I'm guessing the filter is constructed wrong, but I'd need to see what's in it to be more specific.

the locator did change a few builds back, with the addition of the SEARCH type - so it's possible somethingis bust for SQL specifically.

cheers
Bruce

Devan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2012, 08:36:00 PM »
Ok, I slapped a trace on it as requested, and I think the problem here is that there is a default query in place already using the SQL() qualifier, but the query appended onto the end when I select a locator, is NOT wrapped in SQL(), so I am not sure if that is causing the SQL back end to fail?

Original Query:


Code: [Select]
[10396] [netTrace][thread=3] Filter: (SQL((PermitReqd=0 OR Code IN (SELECT ProductCode FROM DBRestrictedProducts WHERE CRMGUID='0CAD3FF0-C710-DD11-ADEF-0013206363F7')) And (Location='Q')))

When locator is applied:



Code: [Select]
[10396] [netTrace][thread=3] Filter: (SQL((PermitReqd=0 OR Code IN (SELECT ProductCode FROM DBRestrictedProducts WHERE CRMGUID='0CAD3FF0-C710-DD11-ADEF-0013206363F7')) And (Location='Q'))) AND ( INSTRING('BAY',UPPER(VPR:Description),1,1) > 0)

I am assuming because INSTRING() is not a valid SQL function, it is failing when getting passed to the back end?

Cheers,
Devan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2012, 09:55:58 PM »
Instring is ok in a filter, the driver converts it to SQL.
And it should be ok to mix the sql, and non-sql parts.

cheers
Bruce

Devan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2012, 01:38:40 AM »
Okay, this is REALLY weird!

I've been cracking my head against this for hours now.  Ended up MANUALLY recreating that filter each time to see what was happening.

I've found that if I append the following to the end of the filter:

( INSTRING('BAY',UPPER(VPR:Description),1,1) > 0)

Then it fails, and does not return any records, HOWEVER, if I change it slightly to:

( INSTRING('BAY',UPPER(VPR:Description),1,1) <> 0)

Then it works perfectly.  Just changed the '>' (greater than) to '<>' (not equals).  I even put an extra field in the browse with the value 'INSTRING('BAY',UPPER(VPR:Description),1,1)' and it is returning 1, 6, 9 etc. as it should.

SO - the question is: LOGICALLY it should work because if the returned value is '1' then '>0' is the same as '<>0' ?!?!  Yet changing this ONE character is the difference between the query working or failing.

Is this a Clarion or MS-SQL driver bug???

Cheers,
Devan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2012, 04:33:47 AM »
I've no idea Devan, but I guess it's an easy enough change for me to make, and I can't see that it does any harm. When I'm back in the office I'll tweak netweb.clw with this change.

cheers
Bruce

linas@debetas.lt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2012, 02:56:48 PM »
I can join here :)

After each nettalk update I tweak netweb.clw  as Deva described ssituation.

Linas

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Locator problems since upgrading to 6.2x?
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2012, 10:33:20 PM »
done for the next build.