NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Problem with DUPLICATE() in WebForm  (Read 3740 times)

CyberFerret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • Email
Problem with DUPLICATE() in WebForm
« on: September 12, 2011, 03:08:37 AM »
I've just come across a strange problem that I hope someone here can help with.  I am not sure if it is a NetTalk WebServer problem, or an ODBC driver problem, or a MySQL problem?

In short: We have a NetTalk web app that talks to a back end MySQL database via ODBC.  Standard template NetWebBrowse -> NetWebForms.  Within the database, we are using VARCHAR(64) fields as the unique ID, and I am generating a GUID using the IceTips tools to prime these ID fields when a new record is added.

All seems to be going OK, and when I check the MySQL database, the GUID's are being saved nicely, along with all the other data.

But when testing, I find that when I edit some of the records, and click the 'Save' button, I am getting a 'Duplicate Key Found  PRIMARY --> CLI:ID' which is happening in the CheckForDuplicate routine.

PRIMARY is the name of the key, which only has CLI:ID as the only unique, primary key field in it.

Wierd in that it only happens on SOME records, not all.  Is this a bug in the ODBC driver, (I am using v3.51) or with MySQL?

Because I am generating long GUIDs manually, I don't think we will ever have the occurance of a duplicate value in the database, so to circumvent this, I have just put an EXIT at the top of that routine however I am nervous that this might break something else?!?  Did I do the right thing?

Thanks!

Devan

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11250
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with DUPLICATE() in WebForm
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 06:15:31 AM »
nothing useful springs to mind Devan.
However if you are suing a random Guid I think the duplicate check is probably superfluous.
cheers
Bruce

Thys

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
    • Incasu
    • Email
Re: Problem with DUPLICATE() in WebForm
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2011, 06:46:23 AM »
I don't use MySQL but I had similar problems before. Look in the table for a record with a blank CLI:ID - you may be trying to add another record with a blank CLI:ID without knowing it.

Thys

CyberFerret

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Problem with DUPLICATE() in WebForm
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2011, 04:11:28 PM »
Thanks Bruce & Thys,

Yeah - this one has got me stumped.  Thys - I have scoured the database.  There are no blank ID's there at all.  The problem NEVER comes up when adding a new record - only when CHANGING an existing one...and always only on certain records.

The problem doesn't 'move around'.  It is the same 4 or 5 records in a set of 20 that constantly refuse to save.

In any case, I did a forced EXIT out of the CheckForDuplicates routine, and things still seem to work well, so I will keep my fingers crossed and go live... !  :o

Cheers,
Devan