NetTalk Central

Author Topic: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons  (Read 5042 times)

AZIS350

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Email
Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« on: November 10, 2010, 08:18:06 AM »
Is there a way to disable the tooltip from popping up when selecting a button? The problem (which I just started having, but don't know if it's a result of just downloading the latest nettalk 5 patch or downloading a 1.86 jquery set - it is the standard lightness ui) is that in a mobile environment on touchscreen devices (iPad, iphone, android, etc.) when you now press on a button the tooltip first comes up. It does not invoke the action of the button. You then have to press on the button a second time, at which point you now get an index error. Prior to installing the path (and/or downloading the latest jquery set) this was not an issue and our apps worked correctly on mobile devices.

I have removed the tooltip text from the button properties, but all that does is display a blank tooltip (with the question mark) when you press on the button. It seems that it is assuming a press on the button is a hover and therefore displaying the tooltip. So for mobile environments, the tooltip on buttons needs to have the ability to be completely disabled. Any other ideas? Thanks.

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2010, 10:51:28 PM »
As a test, edit netweb.clw, CreateButton method, and remove the bit where it's adding the tip (the TITLE attribute in html) and see if this makes a difference. Let us know.

cheers
Bruce

AZIS350

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2010, 06:50:53 AM »
Thanks Bruce - that did the trick on the buttons. I'll need to go through the netweb.clw and find where the other tooltips are activated and de-activate them as well. Especially on the dropdowns, since you now have to tap twice (the first tap shows the tooltip, and the second tap then drops down the validation list). Perhaps in a future patch you may be able to include a checkbox for the various elements (or a global for all elements) that disables the tooltip otherwise this is probably going to be a problem for anyone that is developing for web apps on mobile devices.

BTW, the subsequent error I am receiving that I mentioned - an index error on change - does not seem to be related to the tooltip. Is there perhaps another library item (besides the standard Clarion dll's) that need to be updated and in the current path? When I run the app locally on a desktop browser, which is our development machine, the change button works perfectly and there is no index error. But when I copy the entire application folder (including the web folder) over to another server which we access with a browser from a mobile device (iPad), we get the index error on a change. It has the exact same web folder, and it has the most current clarion dll's needed by the app on that server, and it has the most current c60netx.dll. So I'm wondering if there is some other dll or nettalk specific file that is on our development machine but not on the server causing this error? It was not happening prior to path 35, but when compiled with 35 it started to have this behavior.

Thanks Bruce!!!!

Followup: Apparently any field with a tooltip will be a problem with a touchscreen. Essentially every field that you can enter data into with a tooltip require two taps now. The first tap reveals the tooltip only. The second tap then allows you to enter data. If you try to remove the tooltip with '', it still shows  blank tooltip and requires two taps anyway. If you try to remove the tooltip completely (no '') then when you click on save the original tooltip comes back into the tooltip parameter. So basically is there a way to turn off all tooltips throughout the system?
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 09:54:19 AM by AZIS350 »

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 03:46:57 AM »
>> So basically is there a way to turn off all tooltips throughout the system?

I will make the next build such that tooltips can be globally disabled, if the mobile property is set. IOW it'll have tooltips for desktops, but no tooltips on mobile.

This will need to be thought out carefully though, because in some specific cases tooltips may be desirable.

Regarding the index error - are you getting that when the form is opened, or when it is saved? Make sure you do not have the unique-key-field on the form itself as a string field. (it's allowed as a display field only.)

Cheers
Bruce

AZIS350

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 07:23:35 AM »
Thanks for the consideration of having a global setting to disable tooltips for mobile apps. With most of the mobile devices now touch screens, I"m not sure how a tooltip would be useful on any entry field, button, or any other control that one would normally 'touch'. On desktops the tooltips work great because of the hover command, but since no such hover control can work on a touchscreen, any tooltip activated would force the user to always press twice on that control (once for the tooltip, then second time to active the control/put data into an entry field, etc.).

Is there a way temporarily that I can turn off tooltips (in netweb.clw for example) specific to data entry fields? Your suggestion to deactivate tooltips for buttons worked great, but I couldn't find an equivalent logic in netweb.clw for data entry fields.

In regards to the index error, the strange thing is that the app does work correctly on my development computer. It even works correctly on the desktop browser of the server that I log into when testing a mobile device (the server where the app is running). No errors at all in either case. The only time the index error comes up is when I run it on a mobile device (and I've tried several mobile devices, some of which had never accessed the app before just to make sure there was nothing in cache on the mobile device from a previous version that could be causing the problem). So the error is ONLY when running the app on a mobile device (and this was not a problem prior to P35 - P31 worked fine in this respect) and not on a desktop browser.  The field that is indexed is a display only field.

I will continue to do additional testing here, but thought the above information may be helpful.

Thanks Bruce as always for your assistance!

Bruce

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2010, 09:46:13 PM »
Entry field is created by the
CreateInput
method.

cheers
Bruce

AZIS350

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Disabling Tooltip On Buttons
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2010, 01:28:20 PM »
Excellent - I'll give it a try. Thanks!!