NetTalk Central

NetTalk Web Server => Web Server - Ask For Help => Topic started by: Mike Grigsby on July 01, 2008, 03:04:51 PM

Title: Struggling with drop downs used as a filter
Post by: Mike Grigsby on July 01, 2008, 03:04:51 PM
I'm really struggling to figure out a form and browse like the DropFilter example.

Has anyone worked with drop downs enough to help with these concepts...

When a new selection is chosen from a drop down list, can I capture the value of the drop down right away, and if so, what embed would I use? I want to capture something like p_web.SSV('Status',MAT:Status) for each drop down.

My form has three drop downs to allow users to find material records: Material, Location, and Status. All are parent records of my browse. However, I'm not using them a straight filter value, I have to do some lookups and things first. Thanks for any advice, I've been trying to wrap my head around this for hours.
Title: Re: Struggling with drop downs used as a filter
Post by: Mike Grigsby on July 01, 2008, 07:10:31 PM
I think I figured it out using p_web.RestoreValue on the Browse from the values selected on the form, and boning up on my filter expressions (for which the documentation in Clarion sucks<g>).
Title: Re: Struggling with drop downs used as a filter
Post by: Bruce on July 02, 2008, 04:21:35 AM
>> When a new selection is chosen from a drop down list, can I capture the value of the drop down right away, and if so, what embed would I use?

For the drop down-
Client-Side tab
Tick on "send new value to server"
Enter the code you want in under the "Server Code" embed.
Remember here that you want to update _session values_ not "file fields".
Also remember here you will to open, and close, and files you may need to read.

then, back on the client side tab, add any fields to the "reset fields" list that need to be updated when the drop is chosen.

Cheers
Bruce