NetTalk Central

NetTalk Web Server => Web Server - Ask For Help => Topic started by: markster on August 03, 2012, 08:47:00 AM

Title: Passing SV/parameter to same form from multiple browses in same proc
Post by: markster on August 03, 2012, 08:47:00 AM
I have an update form that I am accessing from multiple browses that are all located on the same parent form, but on different tabs. The SV: parentproc thus shows the same parent procedure regardless of the actual browse call. When I set a SV in the respective browses prior to the call to the update form, it is not in sync with the specified browse when it is read in the update form.

Mark
Title: Re: Passing SV/parameter to same form from multiple browses in same proc
Post by: Bruce on August 05, 2012, 11:31:55 PM
>> When I set a SV in the respective browses prior to the call to the update form, it is not in sync with the specified browse when it is read in the update form.

absolutely!

That's because you are doing 2 things with one click, and the order that they'll happen in is undefined. (Because they happen on separate threads.)

The correct approach is to tick on the option "include row id" and then in the form you'll get the row id as a session value.

cheers
Bruce
Title: Re: Passing SV/parameter to same form from multiple browses in same proc
Post by: markster on August 07, 2012, 10:44:30 AM
First, where do I find the "Include Row ID" option? I've looked in both the respective browse and form. Also if I'm doing an insert from either browse, there would not actually be a row ID defined yet, correct?

Mark
Title: Re: Passing SV/parameter to same form from multiple browses in same proc
Post by: markster on August 07, 2012, 10:57:53 AM
Brainstorm! I just realized that all I need is the tab# from the parent to differentiate what I need in the update form. The TabChanged embed in the parent proc gives that info. Still would like to know about the RowID option though.

Mark
Title: Re: Passing SV/parameter to same form from multiple browses in same proc
Post by: Bruce on August 08, 2012, 06:37:58 AM
>> The correct approach is to tick on the option "include row id" and then in the form you'll get the row id as a session value.

the row id is implied for standard buttons (like change and delete) - it's only has to be turned on by hand for "other" buttons.

cheers
Bruce