NetTalk Central

NetTalk Web Server => Web Server - Ask For Help => Topic started by: spot1701 on April 01, 2011, 03:15:56 AM

Title: Problem with lookup and no description value
Post by: spot1701 on April 01, 2011, 03:15:56 AM
Nettalk 5.20

If I have a standard string on a form that is a lookup, and the lookup is a popup. With a lot of these popups, I only require the value to be returned, I don't want a description as well, but I have problems if I leave description blank, e.g.:

(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5089496/PublicImages/Nettalk/lookup-issue-1.PNG)

- When I open the popup and select and entry:

(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5089496/PublicImages/Nettalk/lookup-issue-2.PNG)

- Rubbish is put into the field:

(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5089496/PublicImages/Nettalk/lookup-issue-3.PNG)

- If I fill in the description field, it works correctly:

(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5089496/PublicImages/Nettalk/lookup-issue-4.PNG)

(http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5089496/PublicImages/Nettalk/lookup-issue-5.PNG)


Thanks

Bryan
Title: Re: Problem with lookup and no description value
Post by: Bruce on April 01, 2011, 10:57:58 PM
Filling in the description field, even if it's with the same field as the code field, as you've done, is a good idea.

cheers
Bruce
Title: Re: Problem with lookup and no description value
Post by: spot1701 on April 04, 2011, 04:11:39 AM
Filling in the description field, even if it's with the same field as the code field, as you've done, is a good idea.

cheers
Bruce


Ok, if popups no longer work without description then you should probably force it in the prototype for the procedure:

GetDescription         PROCEDURE (FILE p_file,<KEY p_key1>,<KEY p_key2>,*? p_valuefield,<*? p_descfield>,String p_value)
Title: Re: Problem with lookup and no description value
Post by: Bruce on April 04, 2011, 05:03:25 AM
GetDescription is also used in non-popup sites, and I suspect it's less required there.

cheers
Bruce
Title: Re: Problem with lookup and no description value
Post by: spot1701 on April 05, 2011, 07:41:47 AM
GetDescription is also used in non-popup sites, and I suspect it's less required there.

cheers
Bruce

Indeed. That's sort of what I was getting at: the inconsistency between the two methods of doing the same thing.